Let not the pot call the kettle black

Ingenious Brain-cell
2 min readJun 21, 2021

--

Black kettle that looks like a pot
Photo by Tommy Cha Yee Wen from Pexels

“Hi! I’m Kettle. I serve coffee or tea hot. I’m made of aluminium. No doubt my bottom is black because I’m heated on high flame. But you can’t ignore me. I’ve my own utility.”

“See Mr Pot. He is no doubt red. He was baked red. Earlier he was humble clay, kneaded and trampled upon.”

“Mr Pot riddicules me calling me black. So what? Am I less important?”

“There is a nursery rhyme about me. Is there a verse about Mr Pot? How dare he belittle my birth?”

“Each of us have our own utility. I have my place in the kitchen, be it a big house or small. Whereas Mr Pot is to be seen only in humble hutments. What is his status?”

“Why should Mr Pot poke fun at me?”

“Is his position loftier?”

“My survival rating is higher. I have a longer life span. Can Mr Pot touch his heart and tell me that he can be enduring?”

“A slip of hand, and Mr Pot is shattered to pieces.”

“Mr Pot, please listen to me. Both of us serve human beings in our own way. Both of us have to co-exist in society.”

There is a lesson for you folk. No one is superior or inferior. All are equal.

Did not you know what the Englishman said? “He who lives in the glasshouse should not stone his neighbour.”

No one can tell what the future is going to be. As technology advances, both Pot and Kettle may go out of existence. One will have to search for them in the museum in the future.

In the final analysis, Mr Pot should watch his boiling point and Mr Kettle should control his whistling.

--

--

Ingenious Brain-cell

An artist who aspires to write as well :) :: Follow me on Instagram for art or cosplay content https://www.instagram.com/ingenious_braincell/